Does a Disability Always Disable you?

After reading an article on CNN about the genius in people with learning disabilities, I began thinking.

Growing up my parents always answered my questions about why people were different very well. Luckily for me, my parents are very open and accepting people so they never answered my questions with ignorant or harsh questions.

I have a cousin who has autism, so as a child my parents would explain to me that I had to be more understanding when hanging around him. I couldn’t fully grasp at 6 or 8 years old what exactly was wrong with my cousin, but I did know because of my parents that we saw the world differently.

This idea extended out to my peers in the classroom. There were kids with Aspergers, some were dyslexic and many had ADD and ADHD.  Some of these disorders were very obvious, while others were more subtle. Occasionally kids would make jokes about these other kids and how they were “weird”. When these kids would taunt and tease, I always felt so angry and upset.

It wasn’t fair that these kids were laughing at their own classmates because they thought they were “stupid”. The other kids weren’t stupid, they just had minds that worked a little differently then ours.

The way some people with disabilities minds work make them smarter than us in many ways, and I like that this article highlighted that.

It wasn’t till I got older that I was able to grow my understanding of disabilities. I knew that they weren’t stupid, I knew that their minds worked differently than ours, but I began to notice that they were in many ways a lot smarter than many people without learning disabilities.

I hate when people think that someone’s learning disability makes them stupid.

People with learning disabilities aren’t stupid, and I’m glad that CNN was able to emphasize that.

Wallace, Kelly. “The Genius in People with Learning, Mental Health Issues.” CNN. Cable News Network, 09 Mar. 2017. Web. 03 Apr. 2017.

Leave a Reply

